Call for Gigi Sohn for FCC – Fight Corruption

Call for Gigi Sohn for FCC Commissioner

Gigi Sohn has loads of recommendations for the FCC commissioner position, but hasn’t come to a vote thanks to senators.

Big media and tech is behind this, so we need to pressure legislators for support and a vote.

Words are being said that are manipulations and lies. Some say she is going to censor the Net based on her former work and workplace.This is a lie.

Compare this to current FCC commissioners who have pushed terrible, industry ideas such as promoting monopoly, ending neutrality, and making it just about impossible to stop a cell tower in front of your house that nearly no one in office or big media attacks. The attack on Gigi is an big industry front, because it doesn’t attack the real problem and because the accusations are lies.

Gigi is a board member of the Electronic Frontier Foundation, which is a fantastic organization working to protect the people from surveillance and other craziness in the USA. Everyone should be on the EFF list, because they send out meaningful petition requests, such as this petition to stop the idea of taxing link shares, yes links on the Internet — actually, just look at all the smart campaigns.

Public Knowledge, her former workplace, tries to protect free speech. It has proposals online that say to censor conduct, not content, and to protect Section 230. Section 230 is very important for protecting Section 230, but lawmakers on all sides are trying to undermine Section 230. People criticizing Gigi are giving lawmakers a free pass.

Gigi is even getting support from small right wing media, because of her support for free press.

Still, some GOP lawmakers are saying they just want a non-left candidate, which is a cover. Her nomination would give the FCC a net neutrality majority, just for one.

Let’s highlight a few of her opponents for posterity: Senator Roger Wicker (R-Miss.); Sen. Thom Tillis (R-N.C.); Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Tex.); Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.; Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-AK).

Scott McCollough, who helped win a case that the FCC has failed to examine the evidence of wireless non-ionizing radiation, has said that he knew her before he became aware of the wireless issue, and she was always a person who would listen and be reasonable. Many tech advocates have come out in favor of her nomination. The AFL-CIO recommended her as well.

The attacks on Gigi are wrong, and hypocritical because legislators are the one who should be attacked for allowing so much to go wrong online in the United States on privacy, censorship, and safety.

CALL FOR GIGI SOHN FOR FCC!

There are tons of petitions online for Gigi. Here is one from Common Cause.

Also call. Senators in these states need to hear from constituents: Alaska, Arizona, Nevada, Montana, Colorado, Maine and West Virginia, especially:

1) Schumer – NY- Senate majority leader who needs to bring her nomination to vote, but who has many technology conflicts of interest.
2) Cortez – Matso – Nevada
3) Kelly – Arizona
4) Kamala Harris
5) McCrowski – Alaska
6) Collins – Maine

SOME CONTACT DETAILS:

Chuck Schumer (D)
New York

Chief of Staff
Mr. Michael Lynch
mike_lynch@schumer.senate.gov

(202) 224-6542

Telecom Staff
Mr. Didier Barjon
didier_barjon@schumer.senate.gov

(202) 224-6542

Health Staff
Mr. Matthew Fuentes
matt_fuentes@schumer.senate.gov

(202) 224-6542

Environment Staff
Mr. Adrian Deveny
adrian_deveny@schumer.senate.gov

(202) 224-6542

Mark Kelly (D)
Arizona (Gabby Gifford’s husband, former astronaut and in a tough race)

Chief of Staff
Ms. Jennifer Cox
(On Leave, Parental)
jennifer_cox@kelly.senate.gov

(202) 224-2235

Telecom Staff
Mr. Joe Russell
joe_russell@kelly.senate.gov
(202) 224-2235
Health Staff
Ms. Katherine Phillips
katherine_phillips@kelly.senate.gov

(202) 224-2235
Environment Staff
Mr. Joe Russell

joe_russell@kelly.senate.gov

(202) 224-2235

Catherine Cortez-Masto (D)
Nevada

Chief of Staff
Mr. Josh Yearsley
josh_yearsley@cortezmasto.senate.gov

(202) 224-3542

Telecom Staff
Mr. Trevor L. Dean
trevor_dean@cortezmasto.senate.gov

(202) 224-3542

Health Staff
Ms. Casey Badmington
casey_badmington@cortezmasto.senate.gov

(202) 224-3542

Environment Staff
Mr. Kyle Chapman
kyle_chapman@cortezmasto.senate.gov

(202) 224-3542

Joe Manchin (D)
West Virginia

Chief of Staff
Mr. Lance West Jr.
lance_west@manchin.senate.gov

(202) 224-3954
Telecom Staff
Mr. Seth Gainer
seth_gainer@manchin.senate.gov

(202) 224-3954
Health Staff
Ms. Audrey Smith
audrey_smith@manchin.senate.gov

(202) 224-3954
Environment Staff
Ms. Jordan Brossi
jordan_brossi@manchin.senate.gov

(202) 224-3954

Susan Collins (R)
Maine

Chief of Staff
Mr. Steve Abbott
steve_abbott@collins.senate.gov

(202) 224-2523

Telecom Staff
Mr. James S. Erwin
james_erwin@collins.senate.gov

(202) 224-2523
Crime Staff
Mr. Trent Benishek
trent_benishek@collins.senate.gov

(202) 224-2523
Environment Staff
Ms. Molly Ryan
molly_ryan@collins.senate.gov

(202) 224-2523

Lisa A. Murkowski (R)
Alaska

Chief of Staff
Mr. Kaleb D. Froehlich
kaleb_froehlich@murkowski.senate.gov

(202) 224-6665
Consumer, Commerce Staff
Ms. Kensey Finnegan
kensey_finnegan@murkowski.senate.gov

(202) 224-6665
Health Staff
Ms. Anna C. Dietderich
anna_dietderich@murkowski.senate.gov

(202) 224-6665
Environment Staff
Mr. Aaron J. Thiele
aaron_thiele@murkowski.senate.gov

(202) 224-6665

 

Last Tree Laws Massachusetts