Politician Scorecards


Politician Scorecards and Sponsorships

These legislators need more education, although Rep. Bradley Jones was most assuredly provided with criticism in previous sessions of his bill.

Sponsors of 5G/Wireless Bills

  • Rep. Bradley Jones (North Reading, Lynnfield, Middleton) - H. 124, industry and legislator task force to investigate how to best provide 5G
  • Rep Bradford Hill (Ipswich area) - H. 124, industry and legislator task force to investigate how to best provide 5G
  • Rep. David T. Vieira (Falmouth, Mashpee, Bourne) -S. 124, to allow (wireless) internet on private ways where there is right of ingress for telephone etc.
  • Rep. Dylan A. Fernandes (Barnstable, Dukes, and Nantucket) - S. 124, same as above.

Co-sponsors of 5G/wireless bills

    • Susan Williams Gifford 2nd Plymouth
    • Maria Duaime Robinson 6th Middlesex
    • Paul K. Frost 7th Worcester
    • Mathew J. Muratore 1st Plymouth
    • Steven S. Howitt 4th Bristol
    • Susan L. Moran Plymouth and Barnstable (S. 124)

Problematic, superficially good or minimal action bills are separated in a second list as may reflect less or insincere support and/or a need for education.

  • * = Also sponsored/cosponsored problematic, superficially good bills
  • ** = Also sponsored bills to support wireless/5G

Concrete, significant action - Sponsors :

  • Rep. Pat Duffy (Holyoke) - hardwire schools, etc.
  • Rep. Carlos Gonzalez (Springfield) - cell tower registration
  • Sen. Michael Moore (Worcester) - smart meters
  • Sen. John Keenan (Quincy area) - require local approval of permitting railway wireless infrastructure
  • *Sen. Julian Cyr (Cape & islands) - provide cellphone warnings which in 2020 sadly a federal court deemed illegal
  • Sen. Karen Spilka, President (Ashland area) - investigation bill (before becoming president)

Only for an investigation OR superficially good, but problematic legislation - Sponsors:

  • Senator Julian Cyr - investigation (problematic - heard MA health department involved in redesign)
  • Sen. Karen Spilka, President (Ashland area) - bill for best way to use wireless in schools, or best practices (previous to becoming senate president)
  • Rep. David Lynsky  - investigation of power lines (problematic)
  • Rep. Carolyn Dykema (Sherborn area) - bill for best way to use wireless in schools or best practices

Co-Sponsors for concrete bills:

Aside: Rep. Duffy and Kirstin Beatty filed bills late, and did not get co-sponsors and I must say that people who care about smart meters should care about those as well. Only senators can still co-sponsor and are welcome for the starred bills under MA legislation.

  • Sen. Diana DiZoglio
  • **/*Sen. Bruce E. Tarr
  • *Rep. Tricia Farley-Bouvier (Pittsfield)
  • *Rep. Lindsay N. Sabadosa (Northampton)
  • Sen. Patrick M. O'Connor (Plymouth, Norfolk)
  • Rep. Linda Dean Campbell (Haverhill/Methuen)
  • Rep. Tami L. Gouveia (Acton)
  • Rep. Kate Hogan (3rd Middlesex)
  • Rep. Mindy Domb (Pelham, Amherst, Granby)
  • **Rep. Bradford Hill (4th Essex - Ipswich area)
  • *Sen. Joanne M. Comerford (Amherst area)
  • Rep. Marjorie C. Decker (Cambridge)
  • Rep. David Henry Argosky LeBoeuf (Leicester, Worcester)
  • Rep. David M. Rogers (Belmont, Cambridge area)
  • Rep. Bruce Ayers (Quincy, Randolph)
  • Rep. Tackey Chan (Quincy)
  • Rep. Daniel J. Hunt (Boston, Quincy area)

Co-sponsors only for investigation and/or problematic* bills:

  • *Rep. Kip A. Diggs - investigation, better wireless
  • *Rep. Tricia Farley-Bouvier - investigation
  • *Rep. Kenneth Gordon - better wireless
  • */**Rep. Dylan Fernandez - better wireless

After the passage of the Telecommunications Act of 1996, sponsored as S. 652 by Sen. Larry Pressley (SD), authored by Sen. Ed Markey (MA) and passed with bi-partisan support, hardly anything else needs to be done to let the FCC do as it chooses.

Please note this hasn't yet been updated for 2021.

  • # = Sent letter to FCC in support of 5G Upgrade Order
  • FL Rep. Gus Bilirakis#
  • GA Rep. Buddy Carter#
  • IL Rep. Adam Kinzinger#
  • IN Rep. Larry Bucshon#, Susan Brooks#
  • LA Rep. Steve Scalise#
  • MA Sen. Markey (read about Markey here)
  • MI Rep. Tim Walberg#
  • MO Rep. Billy Long#
  • NC Rep Richard Hudson#
  • OH Rep Bill Johnson#, Bill Flores#
  • OK Rep. Markwayne Mullin#
  • SC Rep. Jeff Duncan#
  • TX Rep. Pete Olson#
  • VA Rep. Morgan Griffith#
  • WV Rep.David McKinley#

This list includes 2020 legislators and 2020 bill sponsorships and has not been updated.

  • * = Sponsored HR 530/ S. 2012 for state zoning rights - this is a pretty normal, basic thing to do but many legislators won't sign
  • % = Signed letter asking FCC to reconsider 5G Upgrade Order - this is above and beyond
  • ? = Mixed opinions problem: this legislator Also signed letter asking for 5G Technologies.

Arizona: Representative Raul Grijalva*
California: Senators Diane Feinstein*, Kamala Harris*; Representatives Anne Eshoo*% (?), Jackie Speier*, Eric Swalwell*, Mark DeSaulnier*, Jared Huffman*, Mike Thompson* (?), Jerry McNerney*% (?), Karen Bass*, Ro Khanna* (?), Gilbert Cisneros*, Jimmy Panetta*, Salud Carbahal*, Zoe Lofgren*, Barbara Lee*, TJ Cox*, Peter Aguilar*, Ted Lieu* (?), Lucille Roybal-Allard*, Julia Brownley*, Judy Chu*, Hardy Rouda* (?), Ami Bera*, Katie Porter*, Grace Napolitano, Doris Matsui%, Tony Cárdenas%
Colorado: Senator Michael Bennet*; Representatives Joe Neguse* (?), Jason Crow* (?), Eleanor Norton*, Diane DeGette%
Connecticut: Senator Richard Blumenthal*
Delaware: Lisa Blunt Rochester%
Florida: Rep. Kathy Castor%, Theodore Deutch*, Darren Soto%
Illinois: Bobby Rush, Senator Richard Durbin*; Representatives Janice Shakowsky*%, Kathleen Rice*, Sean Casten*, Jesus Garcia*, Robin Kelly%
Iowa: Dave Loebsack%
Maine: Chellie Pingree*, Betty McCollum*
Maryland: Senator Benjamin Cardin*; Representatives David Trone*, Jamie Raskin*
Massachusetts: Senators Richard Neal*, James McGovern*, Representative Joe Kennedy III%
Michigan: Andy Levin*, Rashida Tlaib*, Debbie Dingell%
Minnesota: Ilhan Omar*, Angie Craig*

  • Montana: Emmanuel Cleaver*
  • North Carolina: GK Butterfield%
  • New Mexico: Sen. Ben Ray Luján%
  • Pennysylvania: Mike Doyle%
    New Hampshire: Chris Pappas*
    New Jersey: Frank Pallone, Jr.%
    New York: Senator Charles “Chuck” Schumer*; Representatives Thomas Suozzi*, Eliot Engel*, Anthony Brindisi*, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez*, Nydia Velasquez*, Adriano Espaillat*, Eliot Engel%, Paul Tonko%, Yvette D. Clarke%
    Ohio: Tim Ryan*
    Oregon: Senators Ron Wyden*, Jeff Merkley*; Representatives Susan Bonamici*, Earl Blumenhauer*, Peter DeFazio*
    Tennessee: Steve Cohen*
    Texas: Lloyd Dogget, Vicente Gonzalez*, Marc Veasey%
    Vermont: Peter Welch%
    Virginia: A. Donald McEachin%
    Wisconsin: Gwen Moore, Mark Pocan*

Other legislators with a history of supporting wireless consumer protections: Grace Napolitano (CA).

American Civil Liberty Union
ACLU dot org/scorecard
Human Rights Campaign
HRC dot org/resources/congressional-scorecard
League of Conservation Voters
Scorecard dot LCV dot org
Progressive Punch
ProgressivePunch dot org/scores.htm
National Education Association
NEA dot org/home/19413.htm
National Federal of Independent Business (Commercial Organization – Sells Advertising to its Members via Subsidiary)
NFIB dot com/state-voting-records
National Parks
NationalParksAction dot org/scorecard
National Taxpayers Union (Focused on cutting taxes)
NTU dot org/ratecongress
Vote Smart (Campaign Funding Information)
Votesmart dot org

• ProgressiveMass dot com/scorecards_and_roll_calls (Progressive Massachusetts)
• AnimalScorecard dot com (Animal Cruelty)

Last Tree Laws Massachusetts